The Greater Waterbury NAACP is pleased to announce 2012 award recipients. “We have identified a very hard working group of people who  are committed to serving the people of Waterbury in their various capacities and want to publicly recognize them for their efforts.” said Branch 1st VP, Betty Johnson. The recipients are:
Dr. James Gatling, Waterbury Regional Chamber, Humanitarian of the Year, Rev. James Lilley, Pastor, 1st Assembly of God Church, Religious Service, Dr. Louis Padua, Principal, Crosby H.S. and Daisy De Filippis, President, NVCC, Education Service, Hon. Michael Ferguson, Legal Service and Marie Baskerville, Director, Unity Dance Ensemble, Monica Dorkins, President, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority and Jeff Hunter, President, J&J, Inc., Community Service. The awards will be given at the Freedom Fund Dinner where Keith Kountz, News Anchor, Channel 8 will MC on June 9th at 4:00 pm  at the Courtyard Marriott. Tickets are $60 per person and may be obtained by contacting Victor Diaz, at: 888.522.1832, Betty Johnson at: 203.768.7544, Monroe Webster at: 203.695.7862 or visit us at or email us at